CAF Virtual Seminar: June 5-6, 2021

Registration for the CAF Virtual AIkido Seminar, featuring a special class and Q&A led by Hayato Osawa Shihan (8th dan, Aikikai), is now open!

The CAF is very pleased to invite you to its first-ever Virtual Aikido Seminar, to be held Saturday, June 5 and Sunday, June 6, 2021. We have a full schedule of Zoom classes led by senior CAF instructors, panel discussions examining “The Future of Aikido” and “Aikido Re-entry in Post-pandemic Year 1”, and workshops on the topics of “Stretching and Strengthening Exercises for Aikido Practitioners” and “Teaching Methodology From Shodan to Yondan”. As well, lunch breaks will include a “Tribute to Kawahara Shihan” to mark the 10th anniversary of his passing and a Historical lecture on samurai with George Hewson Sensei.

The highlight of the seminar will be a 60-min Zoom class on Saturday night led by Osawa Sensei (7-8 PM EDT/4-5 PM PDT) followed by a 60-min Q&A session with Sensei (8-9 PM EDT/5-6 PM PDT). This virtual class and Q&A session represent a rare opportunity to learn from Osawa Sensei despite the ongoing travel restrictions. Simultaneous French interpretation for this special event will be provided.

The full schedule (approximately 12 hours of classes and events) will be available for viewing in mid-May. The cost for the entire weekend is CDN$50 for adults and CDN$35 for students and youths.

To register, please go to CAF Virtual Seminar 2021 Registration

View Poster


With:
 
Hayato Osawa Shihan, 8th Dan
 
 
 
Schedule:
 
Seminar: Saturday June 5 & Sunday June 6, 10:00 AM – 4:30 PM EDT/7:00 AM – 1:30 PM PDT
Osawa Sensei class + Q&A: Saturday June 5, 7:00-9:00 PM EDT/4:00-6:00 PM PDT
Click for Final Schedule + Instructor Info


 
 
 
Fees:
 
Cost for entire weekend:
CDN $50.00 (Adult) / CDN $35.00 (Student/Youth)
 
 
 
Registration FAQ:
 
Can I register for only part of the seminar? Can I register for Osawa Sensei’s class only?

  • No. Registration provides you with admittance to all the Zoom classes and events on the two-day schedule.

What if I can only attend some of the classes/events?

  • You can attend as many of the classes/events as you like. Please be considerate of others when joining or leaving a class/event.

How do I register for the weekend?

  • To register, please visit the online registration page. You will be asked to answer some questions (name, email address, dojo name/Aikido affiliation, rank), agree to a waiver, and provide payment. Once this has been completed, you will receive an email confirming your registration. The Zoom link for each day will be sent to your registered email address 30 min before the start of the scheduled activities.

How can I pay for the weekend?

  • Payments can be made online through PayPal.

I would love to attend, but money is a bit tight right now…

The dojo that I attend is not a CAF member but belongs to a different Aikikai (Hombu) organization. Can I still participate in the seminar?

  • Yes! All practitioners of Aikikai Aikido are welcome to attend.

Do I need a Zoom account to participate in the virtual seminar?

  • Yes, you do need a Zoom account. This is how you get one. Please be sure to register the Zoom account under the same name that you used to register for the seminar so that you can be quickly identified by the host.

Seminar Registration :

To register, please go to CAF Virtual Seminar 2021 Registration

Seminar Contact(s):

Posted in Seminars